Tele2 Russia

Tele2 launches 4G in Arkhangelsk Region

19 June 2017

Moscow – Tele2, an alternative mobile operator, has commissioned the LTE network in Arkhangelsk Region. High-speed wireless Internet in 4G standard is now available to the company’s subscribers in Arkhangelsk, Severodvinsk and Kotlas.

At the launch stage, the LTE network covers the territory where over 55% residents of Arkhangelsk Region live. By the end of 2017, Tele2 is planning to provide this service to 82% of local population. The 3G network is now available to 85% of the operator’s clients in Arkhangelsk Region.

The LTE network in the region is working in the 1800 MHz spectrum band, which provides wide coverage and high data speed. The frequency band’s parameters allow the comfort use of high-speed Internet not only in the city streets but also indoors.

In order to provide Tele2 subscribers with high-speed wireless Internet, Tele2 employees have upgraded switching centres in the regions, built new base stations and replaced equipment at operating facilities. When rolling out LTE networks, the operator has used modern equipment by Nokia Networks. The 2G and 3G networks in Arkhangelsk Region have been built based on the single vendor’s equipment, which allows the operator to improve monitoring and fine-tune the network.

The company is offering users of high-speed Internet in Arkhangelsk Region to test opportunities of the network. When connecting “My Talk”, “My Online” and “My Online+”, new subscribers will get a double bundle of 4G Internet for three months.

Tele2 now provides high-speed wireless Internet in 61 Russian regions. High-speed wireless Internet in the 4G standard is already available to Tele2 subscribers in 33 constituent territories of the Russian Federation: Moscow and Moscow Region, St. Petersburg and Leningrad Region, in Arkhangelsk, Belgorod, Chelyabinsk, Irkutsk, Kemerovo, Kursk, Lipetsk, Novosibirsk, Nizhniy Novgorod, Omsk, Orel, Rostov, Sverdlovsk, Tambov, Tula, Tyumen, Ulyanovsk, Vologda and Voronezh regions, the Chuvash and Udmurtia republics, republics of Komi, Mordovia, Khakasia and Karelia, the Krasnodar Territory and the Republic of Adygea, the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area and the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Area.


Tele2 Russia